Awards & Accolades


DA did a fabulous job at Districts Take 2 on Saturday, December 11th! As you know, there was an emergency at Creekside High on November 20th, and Districts had to be rescheduled for the 11th. Less than ideal, but the students made it happen! 

We took 61 pieces and received the following scores

  • 58 Superiors 

  • 2 Excellents

  • 6 Critic's Choice


Critic's Choice Winners:
•    Samantha Nelson, Choreography
•    Auggie Pulliam, Monologues
•    Evan Gray & Auggie Pulliam, Duet Musical
•    Evan Gray & Jade Livingston, Duet Acting
•    Alanna Carter, Solo Musical
•    Max Grenadier, Scenic Design 


Of these, they competed in the Critic's Choice Showcase with the 14 other pieces that won Critic's Choice from the district. At the Showcase:

  • Alanna Carter received the highest award for the District, our District Representative, which the judges selected as the piece that most exemplified excellence at the Festival.

  • Evan & Auggie received runner-up for District Rep.

  • Evan & Jade received 2nd runner-up for District Rep, a DA clean sweep!

  • Samantha Nelson received runner-up in the Tech Category for District Rep. 


At the One-Act Festival on December 5th, we received the following awards:
•    Nick Nasta received Best Actor
•    Samantha Nelson received Best Supporting Actress
•    Vivienne Gianneschi received All-Star Performance


We are so, so proud of the students' performances this fall! 



In early December, Senior Musical Theatre majors Jessica Coleman and Auggie Pulliam were named National YoungArts Award Winners, the highest national honor a student actor can receive. They will go on to participate in National YoungArts Week in 2022 with the 18 other winners from around the country. See the full list of 2022 YoungArts Winners.

youngarts logo.JPG



DASOTA received many awards for the regional Applause Awards for "A CHORUS LINE!" This is a regional competition with 25 high schools in the Orlando/Central Florida area. (As of this year, DA is grandfathered in to participate as there is no Northeast Florida division). 


Outstanding Musical

Outstanding Director

Outstanding Musical Director

Outstanding Choreographer

Outstanding Orchestra


Samantha Nelson, Christina Dyches,

Nina Simone Diaz, Sirena de la Rosa

Outstanding SUPPORTING

PERFORMER: Auggie Pulliam, Abigail

Douglas, Alanna Carter

Outstanding Actor: Catherine Tetzlaff

Outstanding Sound Design: Rick

Painter & Roland Murwin

Outstanding Stage Management: Emilee Hall & Jaylin Cotton

Outstanding Lighting Design: Maya Vazquez & Jennifer Kilgore

Outstanding Ensemble

These performers had the honor of performing at the Applause Awards at the Dr. Phillips Center in Orlando on June 4th. DA swept the Outstanding Lead Performer awards with Sirena de la Rosa named 1st runner-up and Samantha Nelson winning overall!


Congrats everyone! 


Read more about the Applause Awards Program.